Chinese-Forums

Tourist visa: Have you ever contributed to charitable organisations? UK

ftghh67

I'm filling out my tourist visa and I've up to the question:

Have you belonged to, contributed to, or worked for any professional, social or charitable organisations?

I think I will already have to answer yes to this as I am a member of a professional financial organisation as part of my job. However I was wondering whether this question also includes volunteering at a charity shop? Say with Red Cross or Oxfam? Would someone have to write this down? Do they care about this? I prefer to be upfront about these things but I don't know if it will cause any issues with the visa as apparently China isn't keen on some non government organisations?

Thanks!

But the online form used in the UK seems to be one of those nasty online forms where you can't preview what the form asks: you have to fill in one page before you can go to the next. Are there other inquisitions on the UK form not asked in HK, DC, etc?

EDIT: Odd. The question posted by the OP is word-for-word the question asked on Form DS-160, the application for a non-immigrant U.S. visa. Odd because I wouldn't expect China to use a Chinese-copy of an American visa form.

https://www.collegepond.com/3893-2/

3 hours ago, ftghh67 said:

Can anyone tell me what I should be putting?

I can tell you. I think you are imagining a problem where none really exists. 

Have you belonged to, contributed to, or worked for any professional, social or charitable organisations?

Answer "no" and move on to other projects. If you want to get a visa in a timely manner, just tell them what they want to hear.  

They are trying to root out subversive elements. Do you want to cause yourself lots of grief and aggravation by voluntarily feeding your application into the jaws of that machine?