Chinese-Forums

Best absolute beginner textbook for self study

Paulb84

• New Members

Hello

I am considering learning Mandarin, I like to have some kind of structure so was thinking of getting a textbook to start with and was wondering from other members experiences which is the best one for absolute beginners, I’ve read reviews of Integrated Chinese and New Practical Chinese Reader and these two seem to be two of the most popular, I’m planning on self studying but in the future I may get some Skype lessons with a teacher to track progress and practice with.

Again has anyone had any experiences with the two books mentioned above and are they a good starting point or could recommend the best textbook for a self studying beginner

Thanks in advance Paul

• Like 1

Hello and welcome to the forums.

I would recommend NPCR, have a read of my blog (link below) it goes into depth about how I use and get the best out of it.

Integrated Chinese would be my second choice so its a hard choice, but there is so much more out there free and paid for NPCR that it has always been my first choice and I think it teaches Chinese in well paced and thorough way.

You have made good move by finding the forums, they are a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable bunch who are usually only too happy to help.

Welcome to wonderful journey that is learning Chinese.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I second the npcr books - I found them to be really good in structure , vocabulary, reading and writing. Also there is YouTube videos to go with every chapter. I would recommend getting the textbook and the workbook. 

I also have assimil Chinese and find it good for learning phrases and find it to be a good supplement book wise with audio. But also do not just rely on one book or one method - tons of free apps (pleco is a must) plus great audio like pimsluers is amazing and can get it from your local library 

• Like 1

Welcome to the forums @Paulb84!