Chinese-Forums

Is this where I can ask for the meaning of an idiom?

Moshen

Came across this passage. It's the last line of a short story.

人民的心里都没底了

People's hearts don't have a bottom?

I'm told that 没底了is a really common expression that everyone would know in China - but I still don't understand it.

Help, someone?

9 hours ago, Moshen said:

人民的心里都没底了

The meaning of ‘心里没底’ has different meanings for different situations.

1、For people

It's meaning you don't know or trust someone

e.g:

You just don't have bottom  but we have faith in our bosses.

你心里没底,但是我们对我们对老板们有信心。

2、For thing

It's meaning you can't predict what's going to happen or make sure something.

e.g:

I  have no idea what to expect at the first public program that I attended.

我对于我参加的第一次公开课讲座将会遇到什么情况心里没底

3、For goods

e.g: The trial of this product no evaluation!All these signs, let me have no bottom!

I don't have bottom that do you understand my explanation, because  I'm a Chinese and I'm just beginning to learn English.

• Like 1

>> Do you have Pleco? If not you should.

Look there for a translation of 我心里没底. You'll see on Pleco that 没底 has a colloquial meaning a bit far from its literal meaning. <<

OK, I downloaded Pleco to my phone, but it doesn't seem to allow me to type in a whole sentence, only a word. So I don't see how to use it to look this up. I don't see that explained in the online program manual, either.

I can't easily cut and paste, because I'm writing this on my computer and the Pleco is on my cell phone. I didn't see a web-based version of the program.