Chinese-Forums

Suggestions for long-term stay in China

matteo

Hey all, 

I'd like to ask for your opinion and advice on my plan for a medium to long-term stay in China. 

A little bit about me

I'm in my thirties and live in NZ, where I work as an engineer. I'm passionate about literature and languages and in my spare time I study Mandarin and teach English to refugees. 

I started studying some 3 years ago with my girlfriend almost as a joke...we were taking it easy at the start but soon realized that it is kind of an all-or-nothing commitment. As we were really enjoying it and both have a strong interest in the Chinese culture we kept at it and increased our efforts, and I think for the last couple of years we must have been studying about a couple of hours a day. At the moment our level is HSK 5ish, although admittedly we never took the test. 

The plan

We (me and girlfriend) love travelling, and are starting to feel a little constrained by our comfy routines, so we are planning to spend a period of time living and working in China. For several reasons, (unfortunately) this can't happen before mid-2020, but at least it gives us plenty of time to plan, as well as to improve our Mandarin. 

My main objectives are:

-          Experiencing China as much as possible, not much from a touristic point of view (although I will try to do that as well) but from a cultural and human perspective.

-          Improve my Mandarin to a point where I can at least use it effectively in any social situation

-          Try and do something different from what I do now, which is mainly office based. (This is a bonus point but not a deal breaker.)

Now, there are about a gazillion ways this can be done, here’s some thoughts: