Chinese-Forums

HSK 5 to 6 in 2 months.

thechamp

The thread title makes this sound more ambitious than it actually is - I'm not that daft!

This is the story: I live in China a long time ago but left in 2015 to come back to the UK to study postgrad (not Chinese related).

A year before I left I took the HSK 5 after a month's study (I had been studying whilst working for a few years prior to that - but not specific HSK materials). At the time the tutor at the language school advised me to take HSK 6 but do it over 3 months (I only had 1 month so went for HSK 5 but passed it quite comfortably). After that I stayed in China working in a Chinese office and being exposed to lots of formal Chinese in communications, documents and meetings so I think I improved a lot in that period although I have no qualification to demonstrate that.

I would like to take a sabbatical from work next Summer for 3 months. My plan is to do 1 month of travel and rockclimbing (Tiger Leaping Gorge, Yangshuo etc) and two months of full-time study and take HSK 6). Does this sound plausible/possible do you think? Bare in mind I have only been using Chinese sparingly, for the last 4 years...does anyone know much about how quickly your language abilities deteriorate or come back to you after some deterioration?

• Like 1

Take a mock HSK 5 test and compare it to your results before. How much have you retained? What do you need to refresh and work on?
Then take a timed mock HSK 6 test. How far are you from passing? What are your weaknesses? 

In my eyes, that's the only way you'll really know if it's doable and how much you've retained from before. It's difficult for anyone to really say as no one knows your level better than yourself.  In the meantime, I hear the vocab and amount of reading is a killer in the HSK 6, so get plenty of extra reading in to boost your speed, then in China find a dedicated HSK teacher to guide you on how to best answer the types of questions you'll encounter.