Chinese-Forums

How I learned Chinese Part 1

Vincent666

I came to China on August 19 2017. I started learning Chinese pretty much immediately when I landed and I haven't stopped since. I had decided to take it a bit easy when I first started or maybe I just did what was appropriate. I only stuck with one source until I finished it. I studied using an app called "Hello Chinese" and I often used what I learned with the locals. That app alone helped me out tremendously. I also avoided locals who could speak English and I avoided hanging out with other foreigners. I only wanted to speak Chinese. I finished the app in about a year and a half. It took some repetition to remember some words and what not. 2 years later, I find myself still using the app. I am completing the app again just for review. I still am far from even mastering the characters in the app. 

I am at an intermediate level in my Mandarin at this point. (Beginner Intermediate). 

13 hours ago, Vincent666 said:

I also avoided locals who could speak English and I avoided hanging out with other foreigners

It's interesting to hear your success with Hello Chinese.  I like hearing how different people learn the language.  I'm a fan of Pimsleur supplemented with old Chinesepod lessons, movies, & talking with friends.

I can only imagine what it was like to be with locals who only spoke Chinese and having limited Chinese skills.  I'm still amazed how much I DON'T understand in a conversation.  A friend will start talking and sometimes I do, sometimes I don't get what they are saying.  Whereas with European languages, I might get bits even if I know little of the language, I find Chinese much more of a challenge.  (albeit, I've never lived in China & never needed to "survive" on daily basis by speaking Chinese.)  Immersion like you did makes lots of sense for someone living there.    

• Like 1