Chinese-Forums

Does Chinese become your Everything?

PerpetualChange

Prior to my Chinese study really ramping up over the last year, I studied maybe 30 minutes per day, and otherwise enjoyed learning guitar and piano, playing video games, reading novels, watching movies, etc., in the rest of my free time. 

I realized the other day that Chinese study has begun to imperialize my inner life. Aside from normal study, now I find myself only reaching for Chinese books, only watching Chinese movies, only playing games if they have a Chinese language pack. It's almost as nothing seems worth doing anymore, unless it can improve my Chinese as side effect. I've even gone as far as spending downtime at work on reading webnovels. Some people the Meetup group I attend have said things to me like, "You know you're not Chinese, right?"

I'm sure my study patterns will ebb and flow, but I'm just curious if others have also become so obsessive that Chinese-related activities become almost all they do. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Hi,

The same  thing happens to me since a few years ago. I'm kind of obsessed with Chinese language.  I only want to do things that have any kind of relation with Chinese. But I'm not fluent in Chinese, and maybe sometimes I feel frustrated because I can't raise my level just by watching movies or reading texts. Unpleasant situation... ?

• Like 1

I have been through it and still do it to some degree. I think it might be a possibly useful attempt at immersion when you are outside China ( I noticed the OP was in the USA).