Chinese-Forums

Short-term study courses - please help me choose!

two-ks

• New Members

Hello all, 

I've done a ton of research, and following the guidelines in this post, would love your thoughts on where to study in China. Below is all the information I think I could possibly provide. Would really appreciate any and all perspectives! I've searched each school name mentioned below on this forum and read through all the threads that mention it, but some are on the older side so I thought I'd post for the freshest perspective.

Level: Total beginner (except for a few months of HelloChinese - not sure that counts), though once I choose a school I plan to do online lessons for a few months between now and when I start in April.

Purpose: 'Language vacation'; languages are my favorite hobby, I speak ~7 with varying degrees of proficiency but my comfort zones are Romance and Germanic. Challenging myself with Mandarin while taking some time off from a stressful job.

My goal is that at the end of ~2-3 months, I can travel to a few places in China and be able to make basic arrangements without needing a guide.

Timeframe: I have ~3.5 months total to spend abroad, looking to spend minimum 2 months full-time studying and at least 2-3 weeks traveling. Approx. April-Jun timeframe.

Budget: Least important, all programs except LTL are well within the range, but if LTL is worth it I'll consider.

Facts about me to help with recommendations:

• Female, young professional
  • Happier in cold weather than in hot weather
  • Not good at talking to strangers, but not a total introvert either
  • Like: being active, the outdoors, cooking
  • Dislike: partying a lot (the occasional bar outing is ok)
  • Love big cities - Shanghai sounds great - but I think the 'contrived' environment of a private language school in a smaller city would be better in my case?
  • Clean is better than dirty, but I have no illusions about where I'm going