Chinese-Forums

Need help with some Confucian texts

Ruiyan

Hi everyone, I am an amateur trying to translate some neo-Confucian texts and I hope folks here can help me!

First up is a passage from Xie Liangzuo’s commentary in the Analects. This is referring specifically to Analects 12:1 where Confucius talks about the importance of self-restraint and returning to the rites (克己复礼)

Here is Xie’s remark

克己须从性,偏难克处克将去.

My attempted rendering is something like: Self-discipline must accord with nature; deviating [from nature] it is hard to discipline and command.

I’m pretty sure I’ve got this wrong, possibly entirely wrong. Please help! Thanks.

• Like 1
  • Good question! 2

I'm sure someone will be along to help you out, but as a fellow amateur, I'd like to have a go as well.

I'm not sure I'd translate 性 as "nature" here.  I know these words have different meanings depending on which era we're looking at, but I think something like "Self-restrain must come from within" might align better with the section of Analects he is commenting on.

I understand how you've translated the second part: 偏 (deviate) 难 (hard) 克处 (discipline) 克将去 (command), with the 难 covering both 克处 and 克将去.  I don't really see how this relates to the section this commentary is for. 

I'd like to read it as: 偏难克 (Incorrect and difficult to restrain/conquer) 处 (places) 克将去 (go and restrain/conquer them).  The part of Analects commented on is the line: 为仁由己而由人乎哉?So the commentary would be: Self-restraint must come from within, places (within you) which are wrong and difficult to conquer - those must be conquered.  I've taken a bit of license with the meaning of 克 as "restrain"/"conquer".  This also leads nicely into the whole 非礼勿视 bit.

Well, that's my two cents.  But, like I said, I'm an amateur too.  Now we wait for someone who knows what they're talking about to come along...

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2