Chinese-Forums

给 + target sentences

Hagai

Hi everybody!

First, I would like to note I am familiar with this page: https://resources.allsetlearning.com/chinese/grammar/Verbs_preceded_by_"gei", but still not satisfied.

I would like to propose a different way of analyzing those sentences. Take for example:

我给你打电话了

It is said that 你 is the "target" word, yet this seems to be odd and I encountered it only in Chinese (in English: I gave him a phone call - "him" is the first object of "gave").

That's why I argue that 给你 is an adverb clause, that describes the target of 打 (sure, it would be easier if 打 took another object). Actually, it does make sense: an adverbial adjunct, make it a word or a clause, comes before the modified verb.

Well, if I'm wrong (probably) and the model shown in the link is correct, it means the 打电话 becomes a noun, doesn't it?

How can a verb act as a subject/object at all?

Would appreciate responses, and once again - beginner here, so I'm probably wrong with most of what is written here. I will be more than happy if someone corrects me.

Thank you!

you need to be more flexible with your thinking. In English we can say

give you a call

give you a phone

give you a phonecall

call you

phone you

call your phone

in Chinese you can say

给你打电话 give you a 'call-phone' (nominalised verb that has become fossilised almost like 'phonecall')

给你电话 give you a phone

打你电话 call your phone

给你打 give you a call ('hit you' I suppose English slang also has, as in 'hit you up on your phone

打电话给你 phone-call you (you probably shouldn't learn to speak like this, as 给你 at the beginning is more normal, but this is grammatically acceptable and can be used)