Chinese-Forums

when to start learning Traditional before moving to Taiwan

jannesan

Hi everyone,

I have been certain that I want to move to China in about 2-3 years for quite some time already.

For the past year I have been thinking more about which concrete city I would like to go to and I'm more and more leaning towards going to Taiwan instead of Mainland.

Soon I will have been studying Chinese for 3 years and it's still fun and rewarding. The road ahead to something I would consider fluency is still long though,

I am only beginning now to consume native materials such as books and TV shows and I estimate it will take years to be able to consume native material with a high level of understanding.

I am now wondering when would be a good point for me to start learning traditional characters to prepare myself for living in Taiwan.

On the one hand I don't want to take away time from working on listening comprehension, speaking and reading material in simplified form,

but on the other hand I want to be relatively comfortable reading and writing traditional characters when I arrive in Taiwan.

From reading some other threads on the forum here I already have an idea on what my learning approach will be like (probably first going through the 简化字总表),

but I am not sure how long it would take (assuming max 1 hour of dedicated study time per day).

Maybe some of you who also learned traditional after simplified could help me here?:)

• Like 1
  • Good question! 1

I learnt traditional after simplified, but I didn't really start learning them until I was at the point where I was reading novels in simplified.

The way I learnt was just to pick up a novel in traditional characters and read that.  By the time I finished, I could read them well enough.