Chinese-Forums

How can I solve this problem (marriage, working visa)?

Kissi

Hello!

I have a big problem. My boyfriend is Chinese and we want to marry each other. He wants to live in China and I also want to live there. But for working in China I need a Z visa, and on the spouse visa I can't work. I also heard that for the working visa I need at least two years of work experience. I have a bachelor degree,but I don't have that work experience. If we marry each other, then I think I will never be able to get the working visa, because of these rules, cause it looks like a vicious circle. And my degree is not so wanted in China, so I don't know what chances I have. Is there anybody in the same situation? And also my mother language is not English, so teaching is a no go for me.

I live in China on a spousal visa at the moment which doesn't affect my freelance work for my clients. I've been headhunted by local employers a couple of times and it would have been possible to then convert to a working visa here without leaving the country though the process can be a bit involved and dependent on the competence and pull of your potential employer. I'm technically too old and too under-qualified for a working visa plus have no recent experience with a full time employer due to a long freelance career but all of that was possible to get round.

So I'd say don't think that coming on a spousal visa means you can never convert but certainly you will be in a short term bind where technically you shouldn't be taking paid employment locally unless you're in a similar freelance situation.

• Helpful 1

Sounds to me like you shouldn’t get married until you work out what, If anything, you could actually do work-wise in China. 

If you want to build a life here but have zero job prospects what kind of life will that be?