Chinese-Forums

2 years TEACHING experience, or just 2 years work experience (non-teaching) ok?

kroy123

It's said that a bachelors degree and 2 years work experience (if you don't have a TEFL currently) is required for a work residence permit, but does this have to be 2 years "relevant" or "teaching" experience, if you're going to be teaching English in China? I am unclear on this as some websites say "teaching" experience while others just say "work" experience.

I have ~5 years of work experience in marketing and business analytics from my home country (Australia) after graduation, but have not taught English before. I am unclear whether this is sufficient for a work residence permit, or whether I should have the TEFL certification in addition.

This is from the regulations (document is 2 years old):

Teachers of foreign languages. Teachers of foreign languages generally shall be engaged in the teaching of their native languages and shall have a bachelor’s degree or higher degree and language teaching experience of at least two years. Those who have had degrees in the field of education, language or teaching, or have acquired a qualification certificate of teaching at their own countries or a recognized international certificate of language teaching shall be exempted from the restriction on work experience.

This is if your job description is officially a teacher though.  Many foreign teachers in China are in theory working as some kind of "consultant" (marketing, recruitment, etc) according to their contracts.

Having neither a TEFL qualification nor teaching experience isn't going help with landing a teaching job, but who knows what any specific employer is looking for. If they want someone obviously foreign-looking who can help with contacts in Australia (maybe applications to Aus universities, assuming that market hasn't just imploded) as well as doing some teaching then maybe you would be a good fit.