Chinese-Forums

"Doing Japan" after 5 years dedicated to "Doing China"

xinoxanu

It's Monday morning so my apologies if the title is not that inspiring.

I've been focusing on China for the past 5 years or so. Lived, studied, worked (and nearly got married) there until very recently. I am currently doing a BA in International Relations and one of my ideas for doing that was to make progress inside my company (with close ties to China) and eventually jump ship to something more related to that field of study (international development, think tanks, NGO's, etc). Once finished (around 2022), my original plan was to do a Master's to expand my prospects in China/Taiwan/Hong Kong/Singapore.

Now, the thing is that I've always been interested in Japan (gotta blame anime running 24/7 on National TV - basically all my generation could say the same), but due to circumstances I ended up in China and unexpectedly had a blast while there (the marrying part is serious, albeit she wasn't the one). I still believe that "doing China" is what I want to do, since I've seen with my own eyes the power of change that country has (for better or worst, won't get into that here)... but I can't seem to shake the notion that I also want to "do Japan". 

Now mind me when I say that I realise that the Japan I saw through a kid's eyes is not the real Japan, and that relationships and work in that country are definitely something different to the West's. But no so different to China, nevertheless, which I've already done and found ok to live with... and besides, if you have survived the China of lately I don't think one should have trouble surviving anywhere else.