Chinese-Forums

DIY spaced repetition generator for texts

Jan Finster

I have been reading a lot of TheChairMansBao recently. Every now and then I read the texts again, but this is rather random. I wonder if there is a way to DIY a spaced repetition system to re-read and re-listen to texts I have read in the past. Ideally with Excel, since I am not a programmer ?

Here is a snapshot of part of a list of TCB texts I read in Excel. The ideal SRS would suggest 2-3 texts for review per day:  

image.thumb.png.e25b8b2fe1a85a22fff91e90babd00bc.pngimage.thumb.png.e25b8b2fe1a85a22fff91e90babd00bc.png

Something like this?

Spaced Repetition Spreadsheet Example

I've also attached it in case you're currently bereft of Google.

You'll need to change the dynamic value in cell B3 into a static date, and swap out the lyrics for the actual article titles. Then the green highlighted cells will be your assigned reading per day.

You can play around with the spacing if you like. The 2-day period between each start date is deliberately out-of-sync with the odd-numbered spacing between the repetitions, such that your 6 repetitions give you the desired 3 articles per day (well, it will be once you're at least 35 days into the cycle).

spaced-repetition-spreadsheet-example.xlsx

• Helpful 1

I'm maybe misunderstanding here, but with an SRS the gaps between reviews are determined by how well you do on the presentations, no? A recognised vocab item comes back later than one you forgot, etc. How do you decide how easy / difficult an entire article was? 

As far as I know, the Chairman's Bao is graded stuff, isn't the point of that to gradually improve your vocab and reading level, with the final goal being native material?