Chinese-Forums

Chinese Game Review: Sloane and McHale's Mysterious Story 2 斯隆与马克海尔的谜之物语2

feihong

Platform(s): Nintendo DS (you can also play it in an emulator on almost any platform)

Where to buy: You can't buy it, it's an unofficial translation of the Japanese game, so you have to search for the Chinese name and you can download it from one of many ROM sites

Release Date: September 3, 2009

Chinese Level Required: HSK5+, I guess. But it's playable even if you aren't close to that level, as the game lets you read the text as slowly as you want.

Languages: Chinese (simplified characters)

Chinese voices/dub: It's based on the Japanese version, so the narration is all in Japanese

I started playing this game years ago, but it wasn't until the pandemic hit that I decided to actually finish it. I'm glad that I did, it's actually pretty good for Chinese practice. Maybe better than almost all other games out there, but that that may be because it's barely a game at all. At its heart, this is a collection of lateral thinking puzzles with an interactive hint system. For a glorified puzzle book, it has great production values. All of the puzzles are presented as a few sentences, and your job is tease out the solution by forming questions. To do this, you tap on keywords and then link them together to form yes/no questions that the game will answer with yes, no, or irrelevant. Gameplay continues until you figure out what's going on and take a short multiple choice quiz to prove it. Once you correctly answer all the questions on the quiz, you've beaten the puzzle and can proceed to the next one. If you want to understand how it works in practice, I recommend you watch a video of the tutorial level: https://youtu.be/GK5NyOER9-Y