Chinese-Forums

What is the best comprehensive Chinese dictionary?

gao_bo_han

Hi all!

This is my first time posting on here, but I've been reading through the forum and found it to be very useful and interesting. Perhaps you guys can help me.

I have narrowed down my search for the most comprehensive Chinese to English dictionary around to the new ABC Comprehensive Dictionary, edited by John Defrancis and the new Chinese to English Dictionary by Shanghai Jiao Tong University Press.

My first question is this: Does the Chinese to English Dictionary by Shanghai Jiao Tong University Press contain both simplified and traditional characters? and my second question is: Does it also have documentation/explanations of characters and usage in English?

If anyone has any experience with this dictionary I would really appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks all,

Bo Han

• 3 weeks later...
Hi all!

This is my first time posting on here' date=' but I've been reading through the forum and found it to be very useful and interesting. Perhaps you guys can help me.

I have narrowed down my search for the most comprehensive Chinese to English dictionary around to the new ABC Comprehensive Dictionary, edited by John Defrancis and the new Chinese to English Dictionary by Shanghai Jiao Tong University Press.

My first question is this: Does the Chinese to English Dictionary by Shanghai Jiao Tong University Press contain both simplified and traditional characters? and my second question is: Does it also have documentation/explanations of characters and usage in English?

If anyone has any experience with this dictionary I would really appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks all,

Bo Han[/quote']