Chinese-Forums

Starting Chinese again. Focusing on tones in the beginning

Krobador

I studied Chinese a little bit years ago and I'm thinking about starting again. Tones are what worry me. I'm bad at pronunciation. My English pronunciation has a strong accent (English is the only foreign language that I speak). My listening comprehension isn't that good. I don't have a "good ear". My musical abilities are nonexistent. I have very monotone voice. Chinese is full of new sounds and of course Chinese has tones.

I haven't used italki before, but it seems to be a good tool to help. I could do 2-4 italki lessons per week (probably 2, but depends on the week.). I can study vocabulary and grammar on my own, but italki lessons would focus only on speaking. I have some Chinese friends, but I don't want to make them my teachers. I can talk with them in Chinese, but its just informal discussion. Of course I would also do my best to immerse myself with Chinese audio.

I think it makes sense to focus on tones and pronunciation in the beginning. I would also study grammar and vocabulary, but tones and pronunciation would be something that I would prioritize the beginning.

How would you start? Do you have any tips? 

19 hours ago, Krobador said:

My listening comprehension isn't that good. I don't have a "good ear". My musical abilities are nonexistent. I have very monotone voice.

wow, I think you're me. had to check that i wasn't the one that posted that.