Chinese-Forums

How to remember how to write 喜?

Kong Junrui

I'm a Chinese 2 student at my high school, and I'm having some problems with 喜. I just can't remember what it looks like specifically. For example, I know that it looks "layered," I guess, but I usually write the wrong "layers," sometime puting the two dots that are in the middle on top, followed by the horizontal line, then another two dots or something. I don't normally write it a lot, but do use it in speech. Any ideas for how to remember what it looks like?

Thanks!

All this comes with practice my man. Characters like 嘉 are easier to remember if you break them into components. 喜 is just 壴+口 on the bottom. I think 壴 means drums or something like that. But just resolve them into their components (like vectors :)) and you shouldn't have a problem.

nipponman

I have seen a lot that are backed up by the ancient etymology site, so yes they are.

but these characters have changed a lot... it seems like the little tricks they use to describe the characters are taken directly from their modern versions.

do Chinese use this to learn characters? Japanese?

According to the preface of the corresponding book, the etymologies on zhongwen.com are based on the 说文解字 of 许慎 (around 100 CE), as well as on later commentaries. These works dealt only with the Qin Dynasty "Large Seal" forms, and not with earlier forms to which they had no access.