Chinese-Forums

Studying Chinese outside of China

John R

• New Members

Hi everyone!

I'm a student studying Chinese in University. I was meant to go on a year abroad in China next year but the first semester has already been put online and I anticipate that the full year will be online. I believe that to learn the language you need to be immersed. Thats why I have been looking for alternatives to China. Because of Covid and visa reasons I cant go to Taiwan and Singapore. Besides those two does anyone have any recommendations on where I can go to be immersed as best as possible in the Mandarine language? 

On 5/12/2021 at 7:14 AM, John R said:

I believe that to learn the language you need to be immersed.

I'm a believer in the power of immersion too. It fueled my own learning process, gave it a practical slant. I probably would have lost motivation had the whole journey been long distance and remote.  

That being said, perhaps the best course of action right now might be to use your available steam to make an attempt at thorough digital immersion. Lots and lots of input; lots and lots of output. Both are essential. Interact with native speakers; use native content.

Get some ideas here: http://www.alljapaneseallthetime.com/blog/. This guy is not academic, but has plenty of decent practical advice, particularly well suited to early stages in the learning process.  (He studies Japanese, but most of the advice works equally well for Chinese.)

Then when China eventually opens up, you will have a leg up and be able to benefit more from your first visit than most of us were. Every hour of every day "in country" will really count. 

• Like 2
  • Helpful 1