Chinese-Forums

Approaching pronunciation of new words during extensive reading

Fithen

As Chinese is not a phonetic language, it is difficult to pick up the pronunciation of new words while extensively reading. So, I’m at a bit of a loss whether or not to look up the pronunciation of new words while extensively reading. On the one hand, not looking them up allows for a smoother reading experience and the majority of the new words looked up and will be uncommon and quickly forgotten. However, not looking up the words at all would lead to a high reading fluency that does not translate to speaking as you do not know the pronunciation of origin or the definitions for.

What approach would you recommend? I’ve been seeing mixed answers online.

• Good question! 2

I'm no expert, but what I will usually do is guess the pronunciation of a word the first time I see it. If it starts to recur, I then look it up. It's a very "feel" based approach. The more you do this, the better you get at guessing, and there's been a few times now when I've guessed a pronunciation, reread a sentence, and realised what the word was, maybe adjusting a tone, but maybe not. I presume this is similar to how a lot of native speakers do it.

• Like 2

Presumably you want to keep increasing your vocabulary, but then I also assume there's a natural limit to how many new words you're able/willing to learn every week. So as long as you're already doing other things to build your vocabulary steadily, you can happily ignore new words/characters that appear in extensive reading.

Except - if the same word/character comes up several times, it can be annoying not to know what it means, so it's definitely worth looking it up when you start feeling annoyed, otherwise your reading experience will cease being smooth, for that reason, in my opinion.