Chinese-Forums

Compound complements of direction

aeitodd

• New Members

Hello! I'm studying compound complements of direction (站起来/跑出去 etc) and I'm having trouble understanding sentence order with locations and objects - any help would be appreciated

I understand that with a location, the location should go before 去/来 - e.g. 他走进教室来. But could I also say 他走教室进来 (i.e. the location goes before the whole compound complement 进来)?

With objects, I since the object can go before or after 去/来 - would these 3 sentences all be correct?买东西回来,买回东西来,买回来东西

I'm not really great at Chinese grammar, so please take this with a grain of salt, but isn't 进来 a separable verb here so 他走进教室来 looks better and I'd expect 他走教室进来 to be wrong. To me the second one doesn't seem to properly convey what kind of relationship 教室 has to what's going on. "He walks the class room and comes in" ... to where? I think you could say something like 他往教室走 if you want to put the verb after the location, but the meaning and usage is completely different from what you're trying to say.

Of the three (买东西回来,买回东西来,买回来东西), I think only the first one is right. The second seems like going back is an action you somehow do to the stuff you have. Better to explain the going back with where you are going back to: 回家来. The last one doesn't really make sense to me.. "To buy going back stuff"?

Here's a jab at combining these two.

他买了很多东西回进教室来。

Looking forward to someone with a firmer grasp of grammar to comment on this! ?

I am likely to get myself in trouble here, but I spent a bit of time recently trying to make sense of the disparate rules as best I could.  Below is a decision tree with notes that you might or might not be able to discern.  (v.o. are verb-object verbs.)

Hopefully somebody better qualified than me will respond.  There could well be errors in what I did.  If there is a better / shorter answer, I'll be happy to see it. 

• Simple complements of direction (COD)