Chinese-Forums

Transcrobes: Free + Open Source language learning platform (for Mandarin)

AntonOfTheWoods

Update: (11-minute) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UodaDI4XVf0 Video introduction and demo to main functions. The system and interfaces have been improved quite a bit since filming this but everything there is still relevant.

I am an experienced software engineer who took a year off to learn Chinese, found it was much harder than it should be, and had an idea for a platform to make learning Chinese (and later any language) hopefully much easier and more fun.

Instead of wanting to start a company, I decided to do a PhD (at the City University of Hong Kong) instead and make everything available as open source/free. The information site is https://transcrob.es and the open source project is on Github https://github.com/transcrobes/transcrobes.

The basic idea is that learners should start doing real stuff with real language as soon as possible, and that if we tie all the available tools in together (readers, video players, spaced repetition, browser plugins, data analytics, etc.), we can get a lot of insight, so every learner can have a deeply personalised language learning journey. Learning happens best when you care about what you are learning (with), so content should be chosen by learners not teachers (or the government!). Computers allow us to automatically make virtually any content accessible to anyone advanced beginner/intermediate and above (say 600-700+ characters). From there we just pile on the science (and engineering) to make the learning as efficient as possible! Beginners can use the spaced repetition and dictionary functionality to learn vocab and then move to the content side when they start feeling more comfortable.