Chinese-Forums

Guide to reading Chinese fiction, from absolute beginner to beyond HSK 6

MoonIvy

On 1/25/2022 at 12:25 PM, Jan Finster said:

I would however not rank the levels according to known character count, but word count.

(If someone studied 3000 characters by Heisig method and/or Anki and was then asked to read a novel or news site, it would not be pretty at all.)

By character count isn't the best way, but we can't think of another as not everyone follows HSK, and using words like "beginner, intermediate" is also meaningless as well. If someone does decide to only study 3000 characters and nothing else then thinks they can read a novel, well ...... it's probably a good wake up call when they realise that's impossible. However, having said all that, do you have an idea how we can rank the content?

• Like 1

On 1/25/2022 at 12:30 PM, Moshen said:

Also, is there a way to download the document?  I don't normally use Google docs and did not see a download link.

You might be able to save it as a PDF by going to File > Print > Save as PDF. We often update the resources (we find better ones or some gets taken down) so I would reocmmend to come back and check on it very now and then.

Looks really good! I'll have to take a really good look!

On 1/25/2022 at 2:30 PM, MoonIvy said:

However, having said all that, do you have an idea how we can rank the content?

How about a word frequency?
You could take a frequency list like this: https://www.plecoforums.com/threads/word-frequency-list-based-on-a-15-billion-character-corpus-bcc-blcu-chinese-corpus.5859/

And then analyze each text and calculate the weighted average frequency of all the words in the text. The end result would be a score that tells you the relative "easiness" of the text based on the word frequencies. The more there are frequently used words in the text, the greater the score and, in theory, the easier the text.