Chinese-Forums

Simple usage of attributive "的” - Quick Question

SPMM

• New Members

Hello there, 

I'm a beginner learner 

Just had a simple question on when to use "De" and when to omit based of this example I have. 

Say you are on a plane and wanted to comment on the amount of people on the plane. 

1) 飞机上人很多

2) 飞机上的人很多

3) 上飞机的人很多

My first instinct is to use the third one. I realize the second one is probably grammatically incorrect, and the first one is the example from a textbook. 

Just wanted some opinions from native and learned speakers which one they would naturally use. 

Thank you 

• Like 1

These are 3 different grammatical structures.

1) 飞机上人很多

Place + subject + adjective.

2) 飞机上的人很多

Subject + adjective. (and the subject is described as "being on the plane").

It does feel a bit incomplete. This would be better used at the start of a complex sentence rather that just 很多.

3) 上飞机的人很多

Many people boarded the plane.

(the people who boarded the plane are many)

Subject + adjective. (and the subject is described as "having boarded the plane").

1) 飞机上人很多 is the most natural one.

Bear in mind that Chinese is a topic-prominent language.

Topic: 飞机上

Comment: 人很多 (recursively, 人 = topic, 很多 = comment)

This sentence structure is extremely common and there is no need for a 的.

2) 飞机上的人很多 is not strictly speaking wrong. It just feels imbalanced, as edelweis correctly pointed out.

Topic: 飞机上的人

Comment: 很多

Aside from syntactic rules, there are also prosodic constraints in a language (such as where to insert "-fucking-" into a polysyllabic word), and Chinese happens to be quite particular in this regard (for example, you can't use -地 with monosyllables like you would use -ly in English). This sentence is unnecessarily top-heavy, and we don't like that. (It's perfectly okay if the sentence is 飞机上的人都睡着了.)