Chinese-Forums

How to unvoice zh?

urnammu

Absolute beginner here...

I heard that [zh] and [ch] are not really like /dʒ/ ('just') and /tʃ/ ('touch'), but that they are pronounced as /ʈʂ/ and  /ʈʂʰ/ respectively. So, they are both unvoiced, both have the tongue backwards, but they differ in aspiration.

I understand the difference on a theoretical level, but whenever I listen to a native [zh], I have a hard time not hearing a hint of a 'd' there. Is the difference between [zh] and [ch] really only one of aspiration?

If I try to remove aspiration from [ch], I end up pronouncing something which is much farther than [zh], compared to when I give myself the freedom to sneak a 'd' sound / voicing in there.

What would be helpful is a recording of somebody saying /dʒ/ and /ʈʂ/ followed by the same vowel, so that I can clearly hear the effect of voicing.

Any other pointers to unvoice zh?

• Good question! 1

I am no expert, but it sounds as if you are overthinking this. 

On 6/22/2022 at 1:27 PM, urnammu said:

but whenever I listen to a native [zh], I have a hard time not hearing a hint of a 'd' there.

So does everyone, because there kind of is:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jcfpax92f1w&ab_channel=LearnChinesewithLitao [see 4:14 and following]

Interesting! Litao actually seems to be the first one I encountered saying that [dh] is voiced. Others, e.g. here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpQ3IMd4AMg say something different.

Anyway, I also posted this to reddit, which generated some interesting comments as well: https://www.reddit.com/r/ChineseLanguage/comments/vi33ot/how_to_unvoice_zh/

On 6/23/2022 at 9:25 AM, urnammu said:

Litao actually seems to be the first one I encountered saying that [dh] is voiced.

Assuming you mean /zh/, he never says that — in fact, he specifically says initial /r/ is different from /sh/, /ch/, and /zh/, because only /r/ is voiced.