Chinese-Forums

A couple of clay teapots

amytheorangutan

Hello all! 

I had difficulty trying to decide where to post this because it’s not strictly about quick translation. I’ve been given 2 clay teapots that I believe might be yixing teapots. I have no knowledge about teapots whatsoever so I have 2 general questions about these 2 teapots. 

1. Does anyone know the quality of the make by looking at these photos? I know that one of them I think the maker is 袁義和 from looking at the seal on the bottom of the handle but the other one, I can’t see any seal other than the writing at the bottom of the pot in cursive that I can’t read, so I’d love to know what it says. 

2. They have quite a lot of stains both from tea and white stains which I guess is mineral deposits? Maybe I’m wrong, also these have been sitting around in god knows where for ages so I wonder if anyone here know if there is any way I could clean the white stains and give me some good tips on how to clean it well but gently. Also would these be safe to use? 

Thanks so much in advance! 

15B2F3EB-B699-43C0-AD28-C98F15732D13.jpeg

61BFF57A-5A43-427E-82D8-6B5C65702548.jpeg

2F89B842-684B-46E9-8A8B-CD6AB98C4F8A.jpeg

This is the other teapot, this is the one I think the maker is 袁義和

31489CD5-252B-4E57-A46F-A61B76C14409.jpeg

2EA3AAEA-4E9A-4CDB-A295-DBD294824666.png

8FFD7526-5917-498D-9967-16F64596141B.jpeg

• Like 2

@amytheorangutan -- The first one is a classic shape, one I like a lot. Cannot remember the name of the shape at the moment. I think it is named after one of the seven classic beauties in Chinese literature. A famous lady's name.

Check how it pours. Check the fit of the lid. If it's tight and the pot pours well (spout and lip intact) and you decide to begin using it, would suggest ignoring the white stain. Don't try to remove it. Any process that removes the stain will quite possibly also remove some of the good flavors that have worked their way into the clay over the years.