Chinese-Forums

Question-fastest way to learn to read simplified Mandarin (in my situation)?

raymond2

• New Members

I have been learning Mandarin off and on for 15 years. I speak it fairly well (B2 ish?), but don’t read it well. I speak/read Japanese at a slightly better level. I have a so-so grasp of Chinese characters, both traditional and simplified, and completed RTK1 for Japanese many years ago. Because reading Mandarin is my weakest point in all my languages, about a month ago I decided to buckle down and study it more intensely. I’m a bit old school, and I did this in a very conservative way. I would read some, then memorize/review the unknown words. My reviews are both L2 to L1 and L1 to L2. Progress is slow, and maybe that is how it should be, but I have heard rumors that some people drop the L1 to L2 reviews and learn much faster.

A few more details that may influence your answer. I only read until I get 20 new words, because more than that tends to make the reviews overwhelming. I read the previous 2 days passages before reading the current one, to better review the new stuff in context. Although I’m old school, I use some modern tools. I use a pop-up dictionary to read, and an SRS to review.

Assuming that my only goal here is to read better, do you recommend that I drop the L1 to L2 review? Do you have any other suggestions for learning to read Mandarin faster?

• Like 1

How much time do you spend reading per day?

I am very good at reading Mandarin. I would estimate my passive vocabulary at about 20,000 words.

The most important two skills needed to read are 1) an extensive passive vocabulary and 2) an ability to make sense of the logic of Chinese sentences. In my opinion, the first skill is primary and should be the focus of your efforts. Just as a child must learn to crawl before walking, you need to learn to recognize the most common Chinese words before you can grasp the various idiomatic combinations in which they appear.