Chinese-Forums

Does anybody have any experience with IBDP Chinese B ?

TheBigZaboon

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with the IBDP Chinese B program and/or materials. This is a complicated issue, but to try and simplify it, let me say that this material covers several different kinds of Chinese content intended for use by international schools that use the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program for the backbone of their certification process, and is to be used with real Chinese students. The Chinese portion of the program provides study and testing material for elementary, middle, and secondary schools up to the age of about 18. The IBDP program publishes the standards and testing requirements, and the material is produced mainly by Sinolingua and the Joint Publishing Company in Hong Kong (along with the Chinese Made Easy series). The material provides a vast range and variety of content for everyone from total beginners to native speakers, although there seems to be some confusion as to the level of real Chinese education required. For example, some forms of this material seem to be used in Singapore, where it is possible for students to have a good grasp of spoken Chinese, but at the same time, have significant issues with reading and writing. But there's also something called Ab Initio Chinese that's supposed to be for total beginners. It also has what they call Chinese A for native speakers who need a course track based on boning up on the reading and analysis of real Chinese literature. Think native speakers whose education was interrupted by a parent's short-term assignment overseas.