Chinese-Forums

is writing characters really necessary to learn the language?

JAT

• New Members

I have been studying for a few years but find writing characters difficult. With modern technology I never hand write my native language. What do experts say on this? Can I learn the characters by reading? Or using my phone or computer to create characters? Thanks.

Yes, you can learn characters without ever writing them, either on computers or by handwriting.  Just as you can learn to read without speaking or learn to speak without reading.

I don't think I could write even the simplest words legibly in Chinese, but I can read at a level halfway between HSK 4 and HSK 5.

• Like 1

this depends on what you mean by learning characters and what you want to do with the language.

In my opinion handwriting is not required but it is helpful for remembering words and nuances between them. I find that when I only focused on reading, my recollection of the characters would be more vague also when typing them and I would rely on the context more in recognizing them instead of relying on the character itself. Now that I’m writing them by hand, I have a firmer grasp of them and it has also helped me better learn words and sentence patterns (grammar), and also to notice typos when the IME gives me wrong characters.

As a side note, I only practice writing sentences and not individual characters outside of context.

You can learn to speak without learning to read, but illiterate people rarely have very large vocabularies. Reading, writing, listening and speaking reinforce each other and writing, especially by hand, is the most deliberate output exercise there is. It activates your passive vocabulary gained from listening and reading and so it also helps your speaking.