Chinese-Forums

Advice for my first weeks of study

n0cturne

• New Members

你好! I started learning Chinese a few days ago and I have been really enjoying. I started with the Chineasy app, and the Pleco dictionary to learn the basic radicals. I then tried downloading some pre-made Anki decks (I have had some success using Anki for other languages). I then found Hack Chinese, another SRS service which looks really good. I am having a lot of fun but I am beginning to think that my focus is spread out too thin. I feel very motivated, but it is starting to get a bit overwhelming. Does anyone have any advice based on their very first days/weeks of learning? Thanks! 

On 2/7/2023 at 9:06 AM, n0cturne said:

Does anyone have any advice based on their very first days/weeks of learning? Thanks! 

1.  Buy a standard textbook and follow it along with whatever else you do. 

2. Hire a native-speaking tutor if you can afford it. 

• Like 1
  • Helpful 1

+1 for working hard on pronunciation the pinyin table. It will help your listening and make remembering vocab way easier. (don't ignore tones!)

On 2/8/2023 at 2:32 AM, abcdefg said:

2. Hire a native-speaking tutor if you can afford it. 

Maybe this is an unpopular opinion but I don't understand why people think it's so important to have a NATIVE tutor early on in language learning. It seems to be a really popular idea and part of what fuels iTalki those kinds of services. Just because someone can speak a language doesn't mean they can teach it well, and honestly most people can't.

In the beginning you can't even understand the target language so it doesn't really matter if your teacher is fluent in Mandarin or not. What's important is that your teacher can teach you the basics well in your own language, and has a solid grasp of whatever they are teaching you.