Chinese-Forums

Dish Network

Sleddriver

I'm in the States and thinking of subscribing to either Dish Network or Direct TV. Do you think it would be worthwhile to shell out $30.00 a month plus the dish for 17 channels of Chinese programming? I've been studying since 1998 and my listening comprehension is still horrible.

Just my unscientific opinion, but if it were me, I'd say no, that's too much expense if I'm just in it for listening practice for myself. If more people in the house were going to be watching the channels too, it might be OK.

If I just _really_ felt like paying a monthly fee for Chinese viewing and listening on my own screen, what I'd do instead is subscribe to something like Netflix for $19.99 a month, and just get all the Chinese films they have on my order list.

Depending on your local library, you might also be able to reserve/check out lots of Chinese language movies on DVD/VHS (the county system here near Seattle has "oodles" of them.)

I have had both the DirecTV and Dish Network Chinese channels. I also had many different services provided by a separate KU band dish.

I will tell you if you want to listen to Cantonese than DirecTV is for you. If you want tons of quality Mandarin channels Dish Network is for you. I have tried all the packages and I would highly recommend on DISH the Great Wall package plus the TTV channels.

My favorite show is a weekly martial arts show WuLinFeng (http://www.wulinfeng.tv/) every Saturday evening on ETTV Global(http://www.ettvamerica.com/ettv/01_aboutettv/01_e_aboutettv00.html). YoYoTV is an awesome children's channel and is a part of the ETTV package. I primarily got it for my little rascal but found myself watching just as much. I also enjoy watching the Japanese channel JetTV that comes with the ETTV package(went to college in Japan).