Chinese-Forums

Favorite Chinese-English Dictionary?

Lauren88

Hi,

I'm wondering what everyone's favorite Chinese-English dictionary is. It seems the Oxford Starter Dictionary (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0198602588/qid=1129599273/sr=8-11/ref=pd_bbs_11/002-4315799-1487230?v=glance&s=books&n=507846)

is recommended for beginners, but I'd like to hear from anyone currently studying Chinese.

for online dictionaries, see the thread

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/6-downloading-chinese-music473&highlight=online+dictionary

also search the forums for plecodict for electronic ones that fit on a palm. Being a free time learner based in the US, I am satisfied with online. But if I were out and about in Beijing, that would be a different story.

"One comment on Amazon suggested you just get the regular Oxford, which makes sense to me."

It was an insulated comment among tenths others...

As a Beginner, I think Starter is better for Beginners!

However, be aware Oxford Starter does not have tradicional...:nono the advantage is the usage exemples (great!).

My favorite is the ABC Chinese-English Comprehensive Dictionary: Alphabetically Based Computerized by John DeFrancis. I use the electronic version in Wenlin and Plecodict, but there is also a paper version available at Amazon. It has a huge number of entries. Also, being sorted by pinyin it is easy to look up words if you know the spelling.

Are you studying in your home country or China?

I've used many different kinds of dictionaries and have never felt fully satisfied. Last year, I bought a Chinese-made electronic dictionary made by a company named "Insta Dict". This dictionary not only had obscure words or expressions, such as "Kodak Moment", it also has a large vocabulary section broken off into every imaginable section (i.e. Health, Sports, Food, Animals, Social life, etc). There's a section for Chinese idioms with the pinyin equivalents.