Chinese-Forums

Please help w chinese names 4 baby girl

RainebowSerpent

Hi, i am pregnant and looking for a baby name for my little girl, she is half chinese, but i am no longer in contact with her father, however, i bare him no ill feelings and wish to show her this by giving her a chinese name. I would like one that isn't common in china. I don't want to create one myself in case i accidentally say something rude! Something natural or spiritual, like River song or Wise Moon or something like that, it sounds funny me syaing this as i would probably never name a child that in english simply because it would be very frowned upon, although i would be tempted.

Please offer me some nice chinese names,

Thank you very much!

I'm no expert on Chinese names, but I can start the ball rolling. We're having a baby girl soon too, and my Chinese wife is considering 童心 (tóngxīn). The dictionary translates it as "childlike innocence", but I like to thing of it as meaning "young at heart". Will you be using the father's family name - perhaps you need to consider what is a good combination?

Green Leaf=青叶 wow thats sounds so japanese to me

Small Small=小小 sounds very chinese, since its pronounciation is xiao2 xiao3, many many names also have similiar sounds, like 萧萧 xiao1 xiao1,etc...

dear RainebowSerpent,

may I present you with a brief intro: in china, many people have only single-character names, like 李敏, etc, so they have they tendency to find some exortic characters in order to stand out and be different, of course two-character names are also popular, and siblings (usually boys) have they same second character (or third) and they sort of rank it, like 李敏慧,李敏洁,etc...

another very important thing is the tone of the surname, if it is in the 3rd tone, like 李li3, please try not to have the 2nd character also in the 3rd tone, as this will result in tone sandhi, like the above example 李敏 li3 min3 >>> li2 min3, and li2 sounds like 黎, thus causing some misunderstanding...