Chinese-Forums

Ang Lee 李安

skylee

Ang Lee directed the gay cowboy movie? I'm not a homo-phobe or anything but I just can't help feeling like I want to puke when I see two guys kissing.

I share the same sentiment, but I have a substantial degree of social tolerance (unlike Bush)

Many people like Harrison Ford and the hero persona he plays in his movies. In recent years he has been sporting a ring on one of his ears. Hopefully this will not be a reason to stop watching his movies. Same logic applies here.

... but the film is about a married man and his, umm "fishing" trips with another guy :)

It's a great film - very moving and really well shot; and being a gay man I tend not to throw up when I see two men kiss :) I don't throw up when I see a straight couple kiss either, for that matter.

I heard from a female friend that she has no problem to see two men kissing, just like vice versa. So the movie could get some audiences.

If it continues getting good commentaries and feedbacks, I guess I will watch it. Closing eyes for a few minutes in the middle should resolve the problem.

To be honest, it's a simple love story. Part of what makes it a good film is that it's about gay characters in an otherwise very macho setting (1960s America - and cowboys at that).

Although it's easy to "close your eyes" during the very few kissy kissy bits, I'm really not sure if it'll be a popular film outside the gay community. (Or at least those who have close gay friends or gay relatives.) I think if you take the gay stuff out of the film, there's nothing much more than a simple love story. In other words, quite dull :)

I think I have heard that he was married but I haven't seen his family pictures, his wife attending the ceremony, you know and stuff like that in the media...

Just curious!

I think this film is cool...

20 years of long wait, not all people can actually wait for such a long period!