Chinese-Forums

Benefits of Learning Traditional

Mandariniac

Hello..

I started learning Madarin last year....and I decided to study Traditional ones because one of my teachers told me that once you master traditional, you can even read ancient books and its not that hard to adapt to using simplified..

But, I came to realize that I have been through a lot of troubles and pains learning to write and recognize traditional while all my firends are having fun learning simplified..

Should I stick to Traditional Chinese? What are the benefits I can get?

Please reply guys....Thanks..

Uh you're not going to be able to understand classical Chinese just because you know traditional characters. That's why Chinese people take courses in Classical Chinese.

The most obvious benefit to learning traditional characters imo is that the radicals and components of many simplified characters were changed in order to reduce the stroke-count, but then you lose a lot of the stuff that contributed to the meaning and helped you remember them.