Chinese-Forums

Balzac and the little Chinese Seamstress (小裁縫)

Guest pratyeka

小裁缝 (had to edit to get that right.. damn GB crap ...)

Anyone seen it?

I saw it last night here in Sydney, thought it was fantastic. Particularly because I haven't had the opportunity to practice listening to Mandarin for so long, and because I started learning in Yunnan ... the Sichuan dialect in the film made me feel right back in the mountains! :D

Particularly touching was the closure to the film, which I wont spoil for those of you that haven't seen it. I had to laugh when a certain southern city was mentioned in conjunction with a phrase such as 'try your luck' or similar .. further elboration would perhaps spoil the plot for some of you, so I'm hoping that others can get the drift.

There are some great interviews with the actors, director and producer over here, too.

• 2 months later...

Got this at the weekend on DVD (splashed out and paid 15Y for a D9 - they've started selling D9's without boxes so cheaply that it makes the usual 7/8Y D5's less attractive). Will report back once I've watched it. Of course, that's going to have to wait till I've watched Charlies' Angels 2 . . .

Roddy

• 2 weeks later...

Finally got round to watching this at the weekend. I really enjoyed it - interesting story-line, great scenery, some good laughs and also some moving moments. I'm not sure how seriously I could take it on a 'this is what it was really like' level - everyone was just a bit too photogenic, but I guess that's films for you.

As far as understanding the language went, it was pretty difficult - it's very much in Sichuanhua, and even the two young men sent to the village for re-education are difficult to understand, let alone the villagers themselves. My version only had the choice of French or Chinese subtitles, so I made do with the Chinese ones - I found myself relying on the subtitles much more than listening.