Chinese-Forums

Catonese to Mandarin Learning Fast-Track?

ZenLow

Ok, mayhaps I think too much of myself as a bit of a different Mandarin student though I could easily not be.

I am an absolute novice with a background in Catonese. I can converse in semi-fluent Catonese with few exceptions, but unfortunately can't read (parents didnt' teach me! :wall:P )

Long story short - chinese parents, foreign country, make chinese baby.

Unfortunately, chinese baby ends up learning broken english, hindi swear words, and fijian war chants. :)

Anywho! just wondering if there are others out there who have been in my shoes and have made certain distinctions/associations/shortcuts whilst learning Mandarin with a tiny Catonese speaking background?

I believe there are certain Universities who have courses that are geared for cantonese speakers learning mandarin.

Oooh, if only i could get my grubby hands on them online material....!?

I am an absolute novice with a background in Catonese. I can converse in semi-fluent Catonese with few exceptions, but unfortunately can't read (parents didnt' teach me! :P )

Long story short - chinese parents, foreign country, make chinese baby.

Unfortunately, chinese baby ends up learning broken english, hindi swear words, and fijian war chants.

Anywho! just wondering if there are others out there who have been in my shoes and have made certain distinctions/associations/shortcuts whilst learning Mandarin with a tiny Catonese speaking background?

I believe there are certain Universities who have courses that are geared for cantonese speakers learning mandarin.

Oooh, if only i could get my grubby hands on them online material....!?

The cantonese to Mandarin courses are more geared to people who can read. Unfortunately as you've stated you cannot read, you will probably find it hard.