Chinese-Forums

What are my chances of getting a teaching job for 2-3 years in China?

Stets

Hey, I think it's great I could find forums like these, I read some other threads and it's helped me alot. Everybody seems really helpful, thank you all!

First off, I love teaching English. I've been privately tutoring international students at the the University of Oregon for about 3-1/2 years. I have 8 years total work experience. I am only 19 years old. I've paid the rent and supported my family (mother and brother) since I was 11 years old, I think it goes without saying that I'm very mature and responsible.

I will be going to a university in Japan to get my BA (I'm semi-fluent in Japanese) and am considering China for an MA or MBA. However, I have to pay for college myself; in that respect it's easier to do so in Japan than in the states, but it costs a lot of money to get into Japan initially.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

In review, I'm a caucasian male, 19 years old, 180cm, strawberry blonde (read: I look the part) from the USA. I'm very mature and responsible. I have:

+ 3 years experience teaching English to international students here in the US,

+ 8 years work experience at 3 employers with good recommendations.

+ 3 years helping teach Japanese classes at a local high school.

+ a strong interest in learning and teaching foreign languages

+ studied Japanese for 7 years, and taken an intensive summer course of Mandarin (First year in 11 weeks) at the University of Oregon.

+ No Bachelor or CELTA

What are my chances of getting a Work visa and a renewable contract for teaching English in China? I would like to be there for 2-3 years.

Thanks for any insight you could provide,

Stets

• 1 month later...

You probably found your answer to this already, but you can't get a legal work visa without a bachelor's degree. You'd be forced to go on a tourist visa (renewed every couple of months at your expense) and do hourly work.