Chinese-Forums

When to start a second dialect?

L-F-J

I started this thread to not go off topic in the "too many languages" thread. My question is similar but a little different.

I'm interested in both Mandarin and Cantonese. I've got a few years experience in Mandarin already and have maybe an intermediate level with it. Although I've never had a real class and only studied on my own or with friends. So the learning rate isn't as fast I bet. I already started to learn basic Cantonese from Pimsleur and got it pretty easily.

In Mandarin I'm pretty good at reading, understanding, and speaking but I still have a big problem with understanding what people say when they speak to me. Even if it's something I'd understand written down. So at times I feel afraid to go ahead into Cantonese, but I'm really eager to do so.

My question is when do you think it's good to start the other? At my experience level with Mandarin and lack of classes, would it be good to start Cantonese and not mess up my Mandarin learning? My biggest problem in Mandarin is just listening skills. I'm still learning and have a long way to go to be able to say everything I want. So what do you think?

P.S. The gal I'm gonna marry is a native Cantonese speaker who knows Mandarin and is also an English teacher in USA. So I'll have plenty of practice in the future. I'm just wondering when it's okay to go ahead into Cantonese. Opinions?