Chinese-Forums

what would you want to learn most in your first year Chinese class?

fayemerritt

Hi, my name is Yuedong Merritt. I am a Chinese teacher in USA.

I am going to develp a communication oriented first year Chinese online course. I have been thinking and thinking hard. What to include? What's most important and relavant to first year students? I don't want to recreate junk stuff as other textbooks already have. I want students like you, really motivated, not by grades, to feel, wow, i really learned so much from this class, all very useful. Could I have some of your input? I would be very grateful if you could give me some of your thoughts about what first year Chinese course should offer to students who really want to learn the language to communicate and function.

I developped the first semester of first year Chinese in 2000, because i was so sick of the textbook i was using. Very proud of my on line course for a few years. Now I look around, i found lots of better textbooks are available now, such as Integrated Chinese, New Practical Chinese Reader. But, I am not sure what you think about them. If they are still a waste or not. I used New Practical Chinese Reader two years ago, and my students seemed not too happy about it. And I want to build a course that is really no junk, everything essential and must cover. What do you think you would love to learn in your first year Chinese class if you attend such a class again? I target the second semester of my first year Chinese as the preparation for students to work/study and live in China, totally happy about what they have learned from this first year class.

And please keep in mind that this is totally online class. So students and I interact through forums and chats and emails and possible phone calls.

Please write me back at faye.merritt@gmail.com. Thank you so much! Looking forward to your reply.