Chinese-Forums

Cultural Awarness and Race in China

ask_weasal

Hello everyone...

I am new to this thread so I don't really know whats good or bad to say

I am an African American male in Dalian, China. I have been teaching here for a little while.

I want to write this post without generalizing a whole race of people but I'm quite sure in this circumstance it will be difficult.

Since 2004 I have been teaching in China and for the most part (About 80% of the time) it has been a somewhat uncomfortable experience. Mostly due to the color of my skin. Since being here I have been denied work because schools prefer not to hire blacks( Eventhough I have a B.A. in English and a two year degree in travel and tourism and am an author of two books), when university couples see me walking along the same street as them the boyfriend quickly shields the young woman away as if I want to hurt her; people are not so enthusiastic to speak with me compared to my white Co-workers(eventhough I smile). I came here expecting this behavior from middle aged people and old folks but I am so suprised to be getting such negativity mostly from university students.

There was an instance when I attended a lecture and I sat in on a class. All of the seats were filled except a seat that was next to me. A university Chinese student came late to class. The seat next to me was the only seat left. She went and tried to squeeze into a seat that was already occupied by her friend. The teacher asked her to sit next to me. She refused and began to cry and ran out of the class. The teacher followed and asked her why she didn't want to sit next to me. She said that some of my blackness would rub off on her.......

Some students say ....wo cao Hei Ren!