Chinese-Forums

Boya Chinese textbook - looking for answers

klortho

I'm studying at Shanghai Jiaotong Daxue, and we're using the Boya Chinese textbooks (博雅汉语), which are great, but very hard, and the class pace is killing me. One problem I have is that the teacher goes over the answers to the exercises very fast, and doesn't give us enough time to write them down. Now, studying for exams, I'd like to know what the answers are, so that I have a good set of examples, etc. Does anyone know where I might be able to find the answers online?

• 4 years later...

So, was the answer key found online, or offline? Is it a wise idea to try Boya without a teacher from the beginner level? I heard that Boya's vocabulary is full of rare words - how bad is this issue at the elementary and semi-intermediate levels, in comparison with NPCR 1-4? How about grammar explanations and translations into English, are they an issue? I see that even in the beginner's books there is very little English, but maybe that's OK or even good? (Sorry for asking dumb questions, but I am confused trying to choose between Boya and NPCR.)

@dreamon

How about grammar explanations and translations into English, are they an issue?

If English translations are important to you, then you may want to consider Integrated Chinese rather NPCR. IC translates the dialogs and all example sentences in the grammar sections. NPCR does neither.

woliveri> I always carried a digital voice recorder to class. Bought it before coming to Shanghai.

Lucky you! I am in the U.S. and not attending a class. At least not yet. Maybe when I attain an "intermediate" level and qualify for the second-year class, then yes.

SiMaKe> If English translations are important to you, then you may want to consider Integrated Chinese rather NPCR. IC translates the dialogs and all example sentences in the grammar sections. NPCR does neither.