Chinese-Forums

What are the best resources for learning Taiwanese?

gao_bo_han

Hello all,

Thanks for the great advice on dictionaries. I feel that I made my final decision wisely. I am hoping that someone can help me find the best resource for learning Taiwanese as well.

It seems like "Spoken Taiwanese" is a good choice because it has both a decently sized book and also 13 cassettes. When I was in Taiwanese I got a couple of CDs, but they did not contain any explanations of grammar or a logical procession in the lessons at all. Nor was there an introduction to the alphabet or Romanized system of writing. I had the same frustration when I started learning Mandarin years ago: seems like lots of companies will just throw anything together and hope someone buys it.

Anyways, I would appreciate any help I could get on this.

Thanks,

Bo Han

It'll probably be very hard to find a romanization of Taiwanese because such a system does not exist.

Wrong. A number of systems exist. The most common being "Church Romanisation" which is used with slight variations on both sides of the Taiwan Strait. In Taiwan some people also use a modified form of zhuyin fuhao and Taiwan's tongyong pinyin.

I believe the romanization you are speaking of was invented when the Dutch came to Taiwan a few hundred years ago. Although there may be documents written in this script, not a single native taiwanese would be able to understand it today (except linguists). But, there may be a few places where you can find one of the romanization systems if it is geared towards non-Chinese. At http://www.glossika.com/en/dict/index.htm (upper right, "Learn TAIWANESE"), one of the romanization systems (which was slightly modified by the author) is used. There are also recordings which you may find helpful.