Chinese-Forums

Help me pick a good book or CD.

Magnum

Hi, I registered here a while ago, but never started studying Mandarin because I was finishing French. Now, I am ready to study Mandarin an hour a day.

I am looking for a good beginners program to buy. I want a CD where they say the word in English, then in Mandarin a couple times, then in a sentance.

I have learned French, so I have some experience in studying foriegn languages. I expect Mandarin will be much more difficult to learn. That is why I want to start with the basics and learn them well.

Can anyone recommend a good CD program? My local bookstore has a few different CD's such as "Learn In Your Car Chinese: Mandarin", "Teach Yourself Chinese Complete Course", and "Basic Mandarin Chinese".

What is a good book and CD to start with? My goal is to find a program that will teach me 200 words in a month, and that I will be able to speak the correct way. If I can learn, then I will be willing to buy a more advanced program like Pimsleur.

Thanks for any advice!

I'd recommend going to http://en.chinabroadcast.cn/ce_chinese/ and go to the Learn Chinese Now section at the bottom. There are a couple of hundred really good beginner lessons you can download and burn to CD, and there are transcripts as well. This course probably beats the pants off of anything in your local bookstore. If you can get your hands on Pimsleur, its also a great starting point. If you use Pimsleur before you learn the Pinyin (writing) system, I think it can be a big advantage because hopefully you won't be trying to match what you hear to english words and english pronunciations. You can just focus on reproducing exactly what you hear, and you won't be thinking about how the word is spelled in Pinyin, which could have a negative affect on the accuracy of your pronunciation.