Chinese-Forums

Who's going to BNU for 07/2006?

adrianlondon

Yes, this thread is about BNU, not BLCU. All you BLCU'ers have enough of your own threads.

Also (wow, I'm in a stroppy mood today!) this thread isn't to ask questions about BNU, or start dates, or the teachers, or the accommodation etc - just use the search facility, dump in "BNU" and pick the correct thread; there's bound to be one already.

This thread is for people who are going to BNU starting September 2006.

BNU, aka Beijing Shifan Daxue, aka BeiShiDa, aka Beijing Normal University, aka 北京师范大学

I'm Adrian, 37, currently living and working in central London. I work in IT as a freelance consultant so will just stop work in August for 6 months. Hopefully the money will last!

Four years ago, I studied Mandarin for 1.5 hours a week via private tuition for 2 years. Although my teacher is Taiwanese, he knows pinyin and simplified characters. I also have a Taiwanese partner who knows neither of those, so isn't much use to me :)

I studied for two years, so a total of 90 hours. Not much, admittedly, and I'm very lazy so didn't do much homework. I stopped the tuition 2 yers ago as I was forgetting more each week than I was learning! We were using Practical Chinese Reader. Not the new edition, the old one. I got half way through volume 2.

I'll be doing one semester at BNU and hopefully my small amount of Mandarin skill will be enough to lift be away from the total beginners class. I'll find out when they test me before the course starts.

I get the feeling there won't be many fellow Westerners joining me at BNU; hence this post. To see if I can flush any out ;)