Chinese-Forums

Sketchy sounding contract

freefall

I am only a high school graduate and therefore had difficulty finding a position teaching English. I found global crossroad, which does did not require me to have a college diploma to place me. It was recommended in a book that my mom purchased called The Gap Year Advantage, so I assumed it was legitimate. I paid global crossroad an initial $200 fee and asked to be placed by early July. They finally sent me my placement, and it doesn't look too good.

It's with Cherry English school, which is based in Shanghai. I found a bad review of them here: http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/forum/index.pl?noframes;read=7952.

Here are details of the sample contract. That's right, they only sent me a sample contract, with all details subject to change upon my arrival. Anyway:

RMB Y 4500. It doesn't say whether this is per month, week, etc., but assume it's /month.

Location: one of cherry english's sister schools. No more detail provided.

If I'm late to class, they give me a 100 yuan fee.

Furnished apartment with electricity and plumming, free internet.

Insurance after 30 days.

Flight reembursal up to $800 after 10 months. They claimed that they would reemburse me half-way after 5 months originally, but that claim is explicitly negated in my current sample contract.

They reserve the right to change my hours and I must cooperate.

I am not allowed to tell anyone what they're paying me. If I tell anyone, I have breached my contract.

The fine for a breach of contract is RMB Y 50 000! This, to me, is unbelievable. I will be fined if I breach any regulation imposed in the contract.

The contract overall seems vague and potentially devastating to me if my employers attempt to take advantage of certain stipulaions in the contract. What do you guys think? Thanks a lot!

The 'sister' schools thing is what would worry me - that probably means they'll rent you out to the highest bidder.