Chinese-Forums

From Kunming to Hangzhou by train

FaithNC

I am a photographer and I will be in Kunming at the end of this month. I have to go to Hangzhou for a visit and I do not want to fly. How convenient to go by train? Specially for a English speaking person? When the train leaves, what is the fair and can I book the ticket before? How difficult is it to book?

I don't know about prices, but the train you should take is the K182 service, which runs between Kunming and Shanghai. You can check the timetable here: http://www.soku.net/huoche/TrainNum/1c7db82ecbc536f3.Html

If you cannot read Chinese, Kunming is the first station at the top of the table and Hangzhou is the 22nd. The journey takes over 43 hours, certainly not for the fainthearted! Are you really sure you don't want to fly?

If you decide to go by train, and you have to go back to Kunming after visiting Hangzhou, the K181 service runs in the opposite direction, from Shanghai to Kunming: http://www.soku.net/huoche/TrainNum/63b56ec1b30871e1.Html

The price varies from RMB230(around) to RMB620(around) for different railway cars, such as seats, couchettes,cabins....you can purchase it 7-10 days at most prior to your departure and I suggest you buy it as early as you can after deciding you travel plan, especially if you don't wanna sit nearly 2 days on train:lol: you can get it from stations,agencies and receptions in hotels.

you can check all the train information here: http://www.travelchinaguide.com/china-trains/index.htm

Its in English and you can check prices as well

In addition to the K182 service there seems to also be a K80 which is 5 hours shorter.

-------------

Result of trains from KUNMING to HANGZHOU

K182

Kunming Shanghai 20:51 16:00 1d19h09m Yes

K80

Kunming Shanghai 14:42 04:38 1d13h56m Yes

It says Shanghai but that just means its the last stop (as in the Kunming to Shanghai service). The time specified is for the time to Hangzhou