Chinese-Forums

am I too old??

piglet

Hi all

I am a 50 year old ex pat Brit. Have been teaching in the Middle East for a LONG time and am now looking to change scenery.Curious to know if I can get a job in a Chinese University at my ripe old age.

I have 26 years teaching experience and an MA.

Also would my husband (not a native speaker) be able to get work of some kind (teaching too??)

thanks all.:)

You're probably massively overqualified. There aren't any stats on this kind of thing, but the average DOS in an Chinese English school, assuming they have an overseas DOS, will have a TEFL cert and a few years experience. The actual teachers will have even less experience and may or may not have a TEFL cert.

The only place you're going to be able to make full use of the skills you have is probably teaching English majors at a university with a good foreign languages faculty. The inefficient and profit-motivated private sector will quite possibly drive you mad, and a lot of the state sector teaching involves going through the motions with non-English majors taking compulsory English courses.

Would you consider international school teaching? That's probably the most appropriate fit.

I think overqualification and finding the right job is a greater worry than your age. You may find some places don't want slightly older teachers as they are less malleable and easy to bully than recent graduates, but frankly you don't want to work in those places anyway.

Roddy

Have you seen these ads?

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/12-horse-horse-tiger-tiger-slang-and-idioms413

English teaching opportunity at Beijing Language and Culture University

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/12-horse-horse-tiger-tiger-slang-and-idioms447

Teaching in XiaMen , the most beautiful city with a good package!