Chinese-Forums

Ridiculous pace

Language Guy

Hi all,

I've been a member of this community for a while now, but I only recently starting studying Chinese. I'm a senior undergraduate in an American university taking Chinese 001.

I'm a veteran of several foreign language studies and have excelled in all of them. But the pace of my Chinese class so far is unbearably fast. Mainly what I'm having a problem with memorizing characters so quickly.

Ultimately, shortly after learning a character I can recognize it while reading and pronounce it easily with the correct tone, but what's hardest is writing the character out by only seeing its pinyin. I simply can't remember them fast enough to keep up with the 2 weekly quizzes that we have.

Chinese is one of 5 courses I'm taking this semester, and so far it's taking up more of my time that my other 4 courses combined. I was wondering if anyone here has any sort of tried-and-true technique for memorizing characters quickly(I'm already using flashcards). I've never really had a problem with memorizing vocabulary before because the other languages I've studied have had alphabets and they were more or less phonetic.

Any tips for a newbie barely keeping his head above water?:help

Hey, I'm a relative newbie too and at first I was really suffering in exactly the same way you describe. And, like you, it was particularly demoralising because until now I'd been pretty good at language learning.

I was taught a good way to learn characters. It's a little time consuming at first but the more you do it, the better it becomes as you learn more about the quirks of each character. It doesn't work for all of them and as you get better you need it less. But it is a really good way to get started.

You could call it the "Invent little stories about the character that will help you recall it by linking its image to its meaning or pronunciation". I can't think of a better name.